[21] medical researcher salary ] Philly

Why the difference? Source data are definitely different, and bonus may/not be counted, but notice median vs average.  Average is typically Higher than median for wealth data, because the high outliers have a huge impact on the average. However, in this case the average is lower !

What’s your field observation of their salary? I guess below 100k is indeed much lower than software engineers. I always thought medical research requires high education and very much white-collar. Now I think the education and training requirement is much shorter compared to physicians who manage patients rather than data about humans. Therefore, the supply of qualified researchers is much higher than I assumed.

I think general practitioners make USD 150k typically.

I always believe that we software engineers are fairly well paid in the U.S. context. Your pointer just confirmed my belief.

— CSY confirmed
Many Chinese in the Philadelphia area work as medical researchers. The job sounds good but I know they are not being paid well.

Leave a comment